“The Social Construction of Sex”: A very clarifying article

Later On

I have to admit I had some confusion about the issues and terms of argument regarding sex and gender, but the Pacific Standard article by Alice Dreger really helped clear things up:

I keep running into smart people who seem to think I believe that sex “isn’t real” because it is all “socially constructed.” Allow me to correct this erroneous social construction of me by summarizing here what I think about sex and gender. I’m tempted to say “what I know about sex and gender” because there are few things I feel as sure about as this.

Testes are real. Ovaries are equally real. They sometimes make real gametes. (I don’t mean to imply they sometimes make fantasy gametes—just that they sometimes don’t make gametes.) Chromosomes and genes are also real. As anyone who’s every forgotten to wear a pad on the right day knows, menstrual blood is real. To…

View original post 1,148 more words

Leave a Reply

